Van has finished reading…Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John Le Carre

3 Nov

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by John leCarre

It’s a while since I read a book that so very obviously fitted the characteristics of its main character. It’s a quiet peace, in its way. Very contained and intense, polite even. Before I realised I was 60 pages in! Unlike other spy novels, I had the very real sense of characters doing their day job. Rather than relying on amazing gadgetry and far fetched, megalomaniac-centric plotlines, the story is wholly centred in a real and believable world. I found myself noticing far more of the world around me, as though someone might be following in the shadows.

I was disappointed at the end of the book. Then I thought about it a little and realised that it wasn’t the ending, but the fact the story had ended that disappointed me.

A very enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

