Van has finished reading…Five Bells by Gail Jones

8 Dec

Five Bells by Gail Jones

I realised after a few pages that I’ve also read Dreams Of Speaking by Gail Jones, which I enjoyed. I think Gail has a style that may well be quite polarising. I was quite aware not simply of a story being told, but of language being used. She is very poetic at times, almost to the extent that the image rendered obscures the tale. Reading this book was almost like watching an abstract painting being done. I found it very visual, the forms gradually taking shape on the canvas so that at different times you see different things.

For me, this was an enjoyable read and I’m sure I’ll come round to Gail’s work again in the future.

Leave a Reply

