Van has finished reading…Snow Drops by AD Miller

18 Jan

Snowdrops by A D Miller

This book is so grubby I felt like I needed to wash my hands afterwards. No, I don’t mean the cover. Maybe I should have washed my soul. It’s an excellent book. The characters are fiercely consistent, and the setting very evocative. If it were a more pleasant story, I’d happily say it was an enjoyable read, but it doesn’t seem to fit for this one. I suspect that, for those of us who’ve never been, it will serve to polarise those who are now dying to go, or those who would chew glass to ensure they were anywhere else.

I guess what we need AD Miller to do now is write a happy, summery Moscow love story to make us all feel better.

Read it. You wont regret it.

3 Responses to “Van has finished reading…Snow Drops by AD Miller”

  1. crimeworm 27/01/2015 at 4:18 pm #

    I loved this book – but what they did was awful. It really affected me. Especially when you know the meaning of the title!

    • vanisreading 27/01/2015 at 9:51 pm #

      It’s the admission at the end that really gets me – that understanding that even after everything that happened he’d rather be there. Chilling.

      • crimeworm 28/01/2015 at 2:11 am #

        Yes – I’d forgotten that! I tried to get a couple of people I knew to read this, but they really didn’t enjoy it, and gave up on it. But I flew through it – it’s a fairly short book, but SO atmospheric. I know people have done worse things in books, but it was so ruthless – befriending the poor woman then tricking her…nasty stuff. Looking forward to reading his new novel, The Faithful Couple. I have a digital ARC to read, closer to the release date.

Leave a Reply

