Van has finished reading…One Day by David Nicholls

25 Jul

I confess I’m at a bit of a loss. I think it’s fair to say this book isn’t going to change the world, although it seems to provoke something of a polar response from people. There’s clearly a lot of love for it and a fair few who shake their heads in disbelief too. I’d guess it’s a question of how far you can suspend the disbelief – for me the two main characters had a certain off-the-pegness about them that very nearly got in the way. In fact I didn’t experience the ‘emotional intensity’ that appears to feature so heavily for the lovers of this novel, and that off-the-pegness may be the reason why.
Em and Dex, Dex and Em. They’re really irritating, especially in the early chapters. In spite of them I’m glad I persevered with them. It is easy to get lost in their story and the premise is a good one – god knows I would have ditched it for sure if I’d had to wade through weeks and weeks of their lives. Skipping from year to year ensures a pace that leaves you waiting for what their situation will look like next year. One thing David Nichols has got spot on is how his characters settle for what comes their way; that line between existing and surviving – how what we strive for, and when and if we strive for it, changes through the years.
It’s not a book I love but I certainly didn’t hate it and at times it is genuinely funny. Give it a try and see which pole you gravitate towards.

One Response to “Van has finished reading…One Day by David Nicholls”

  1. lhedgecock2014 05/08/2014 at 9:11 pm #

    Not just me then!

Leave a Reply

