Van has finished reading…Straight White Male by John Niven

22 Dec

There is something rotten in the state of Kennedy Marr. Kennedy misbehaves. He speaks to people the way we wish, sometimes, we could speak to people. He pleases himself (in more ways than one). And this is where John Niven performs a balancing act. He’s a very funny writer with a keen awareness of how situation is king in drawing out the laugh. We’re watching Kennedy and half of us is thinking, yeah, I’d love to be able to react like that and get away with it, while the other half is just waiting for him to get his comeuppance.
The problem, for me, is that Kennedy is too far beyond the pale so that when the bad behaviour repeats, and repeats, I can’t empathise so it ceases to be funny. In fact this came really close to being a Sorry, John. What stayed my hand in the end is that I stuck with the book and regardless of my feelings toward Kennedy, it’s still a readable story. I suspect there’s a lot of truth about Kennedy’s kind of lifestyle in there though the blunt instrument that is Kennedy tended to obscure it for me.
I wonder if it’s one of those books that you really like or you simply don’t find funny (or perhaps funny enough). I think it’s certainly worth seeing for yourself (though if it’s funny you’re looking for I’d wholeheartedly steer you towards The Sunshine Cruise Company instead).

Straight White Male was published on 15th August 2013 by William Heinemann ISBN:9780434022861
You can find John on twitter @NivenJ1

Leave a Reply

